Support

Account

Home Forums Pre-purchase Questions Why no auto-insert? Can fields display in sidebar?

Solved

Why no auto-insert? Can fields display in sidebar?

• Hi, I’m brand new to ACF. It seems very cool, but as a non-coder I’m surprised it doesn’t have an option to just inject the fields in the spots specified (under title, after post, side). Why is that? I mean why make us add it to a child theme and all that when they could be easily injected by default? Then give us an option to turn that off, for the devs who want to customize it all. Wouldn’t that make more sense and make the plugin much more accessible to everyone?

Also, is it possible display the current post’s custom fields in a sidebar. I just tried with 2015 theme. I added a plugin to turn on shortcodes in text widgets, then added a text widget with the ACF shortcodes inside. Nothing displayed there.

I’m using the free version of course. But I want to be sure it works in the ways I need, without tons of custom coding and such, before I buy.

• ACF is a plugin that is designed for developers that build custom themes. There are other plugins available for those that are not coders, for example Pods or the Types Toolkit. There are really very few “hooks” outside of the “the_content” where ACF fields could be inserted and without building custom HTML to contain the values saved in the fields ACF, anything that could be built would be extremely basic and limiting. It depends on what you’re looking for. If you’re not a coder and don’t have any interest in doing any coding then you’re probably not looking for something like ACF.

• Thanks John. That’s very helpful. The interface is just so well built, I guess it didn’t occur to me that it would be primarily for coders. That makes sense.