Support

Account

Home Forums Front-end Issues Use data from ACF field to automatically populate another form field

Solving

Use data from ACF field to automatically populate another form field

• Hi everyone,
    I’m new to both ACF and WordPress, so excuse me if the question is unappropriate. I have the following situation that I don’t know how to handle.
    I have a frontend form to register users. While registering, users should define the company they work for. If the company is not already present in the database, they should add it. The company is a custom type and I handle it using ACF, which is called in a modal in the form page.
    The form depicted in the modal is made using ACF, as follows, in my add-company-form.php:

acf_form_head();

get_header();

<div id="add-company-dialog" class="pr-add-company">
        <h1 class="pr-dialog-title">Add new company/institute</h1>
        <?php

acf_form(array(
    		'post_id'		=> 'new_post',
    		'post_title'	=> true,
    		'post_content'	=> false,
    		'new_post'		=> array(
    			'post_type'		=> 'company',
    			'post_status'	=> 'publish'
    		),
    		'submit_value'	=> 'Create Company'
    	));
    	?>
    </div>

While the main form is in my signup-form.php and is the following:

<div class="pr-signup-page">

<form class="pr-signup-form" action="<?php echo esc_url(admin_url('admin-post.php')); ?>" method="POST">
            <fieldset class="pr-signup-form__fieldset">
            <div class="pr-signup-form__field-wrap-one-trd">
                <label class="pr-signup-form__field-label" for="pr-name"><?php echo __("First name", N7_PRIMIS_TEXTDOMAIN)?>*</label>
                <input type="text" name="pr-name" required>
            </div>
            <div class="pr-signup-form__field-wrap-one-trd-last">
                <label class="pr-signup-form__field-label" for="pr-last-name"><?php echo __("Last name", N7_PRIMIS_TEXTDOMAIN)?>*</label>
                <input type="text" name="pr-last-name" required >