Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues Use Custom field to show an article

Solved

Use Custom field to show an article

• Hi there.

I’ve searched and searched, but no cigar.

I’m going to WordPress from a asp.net site, and want to maintain my SEO rating, and is therefore making a ASPX page (php), that emmulates the previous way of showing an article with a 301 redirect.

I have a custom field called old_article_id, on every old article, and is looking for a way to call it from a PHP page in my WordPress structure and then redirect it to the real article.

I’m quite new to WordPress so I’ve tried many different aproaches, but isn’t is possible to query the custom field, and get the new url and redirect?

Thanks for the answers in advance

• Hi @hummelmose

Firstly, when you view the page in quesiton, you will run the page.php template in your theme.

Edit this template file and add some code like so:

$url = get_field('old_article_id');
    var_dump( $url );

Do you see your url? If so, you can easily redirect via PHP. WP even has a function called wp_redirect I believe

• The url I need to redirect is:

/indhold/templates/design.aspx?articleid=9713&zoneid=5

I have solved the “make php answer aspx calls” part, but what I need, is to get the article parameter and then lookup ind the wordpress post db finding my old_article_id, and then on that part redirect to the new url with a 301 redirect.

• Hi @hummelmose

Sorry, did you understand my previous comment? Seems like you have gone in a completely different direction to what I have just said.

WP looks at the URL and then runs the appropriate template. On the template you can use ACF to load the custom field data.

If this is not what you want, please re-describe your question with more clarity.

Thanks
    E

• I tried my best to describe 🙂

I currently run a site on another CMS (.net). The current url to call articles is /indhold/templates/design.aspx?articleid=9713&zoneid=5.