Support

Account

Home Forums ACF PRO Upvote/Downvote System using ACF Pro

Solved

Upvote/Downvote System using ACF Pro

• Hi guys, first of all i want to point out the fact that i am a newbie and i can handle php on a basic basis. i want to create an upvote downvote system, by far i created two
    Number fields one called upvote and one called downvote. i manages to displayed them into a relationship that i use to display some posts. Here is where i got stuck:
    how do i send this information to the database, when i click a button to send a +1 to the database and save the field. not sure, but i imagine this will involve jquery right?

i will show you what i have done by far:

` <?php

$posts = get_field(‘display_list’);
    $upvote = get_field(‘upvote’);
    $downvote = get_field(‘downvote’);
    $postid = get_the_ID();
    $count = 0;

if( $posts ): ?>

<?php foreach( $posts as $post): // variable must be called $post (IMPORTANT) ?>
      <?php setup_postdata($post); $count++; ?>

• <div class=”elements_display”>
      <div class=”vote_sys”>
      <?php echo $count;?>
      <div class=”votes”>
      <div class=”upvote”>
      <button type=”button”> <i class=”fas fa-arrow-up”></i></button>
      <span><?php echo get_field( “upvote”, get_the_ID() ); ?></span>

</div>
      <div class=”downvote”>
      <button type=”button”><i class=”fas fa-arrow-down”></i></button>
      <span><?php echo get_field( “downvote”, get_the_ID() ); ?></span>
      </div>
      </div>

</div>
      <div class=”elements_content”>
      <!– –><?/*=function_exists(‘thumbs_rating_getlink’) ? thumbs_rating_getlink() : ”*/?>

“><?php the_title(); ?>
      “>

<?php the_excerpt(); ?>
      </div>
      </div>

• <div class=”clear”></div>
      <?php endforeach; ?>

<?php wp_reset_postdata(); // IMPORTANT – reset the $post object so the rest of the page works correctly ?>
    <?php endif; ?>
    </div>