Support

Account

Home Forums ACF PRO Total noob, trying to display repeater…

Solving

Total noob, trying to display repeater…

• Hey everyone,

So yeah, i’m a total noob at this stuff, and am having trouble displaying a simple repeater that i have setup called ‘p2services’, it has two sub fields ‘serviceicon’ and ‘servicetitle’.

I am now using the code from ACF documentation:

<div class="circlecontainer">		
    	<?php

// check if the repeater field has rows of data
    if( have_rows('p2services') ):

// loop through the rows of data
        while ( have_rows('p2services') ) : the_row();

// display a sub field value
            the_sub_field('serviceicon');
    	the_sub_field('servicetitle');

endwhile;

else :

// no rows found

endif;

?>

</div>	

Nothing shows,

The site is http://www.entirecreative.com/stone

Thanks for any help or suggestions!

• Is the code above inside the main loop for the page?

Just in case you don’t know, the main loop starts with if (have_posts())

• Hi john!

Thanks for the reply,

Hmm, I have taken all the default code out except for content, as this sote will be a heavily customized theme. ..

So youre saying I need to pop that loop in the have posts loop?

Isnt that loop for displaying blog entries?

I will dig up the original code and will try it your way 🙂

Thanks john

• That’s a common error for noobs (sorry, just using your term). The loop need to be here even on a single post page, without it WP doesn’t know how to show the post. Some things you learn the hard way. I can remember the first site I built and trying to figure out why in the world they have a loop to show one post….

• It gets easy to add once you’ve done it a few dozen or a few hundred times

if (have_posts()) {
      while (have_posts()) {
        the_post();
        // do stuff for post here
      }
    }

• Thanks john!

Haha, you’re telling me. It wasnt long ago I was using dreamweaver at uni… how useful that was…not. lol.