Support

Account

Home Forums Front-end Issues Shortcode doesn't work in Page

Solving

Shortcode doesn't work in Page

• I’m still a newbie in ACF,

I created a basic field as shown in the following screenshot:

ACF Field

I can see the field without any problem in User’s profile page but I failed to show the content of this field in the usual pages using this shortcode:

[acf field="sms2"]

How can I fix this issue?

• Can you explain the steps that you are following?

1) You are creating the page
    2) Editing the page using the “Text” editor (not the visual)
    3) Copying / Pasting the shortcode

and its not working? Why is not working? What is exactly displaying?

1. Created custom field as shown in the above screenshot
    2. Created a new page
    3. Added this shortcode through text editor because visual editor doesn’t show a button for ACF (as shown in the following screenshot)
    4. clicked publish… Voila nothing appeared!

• @hpctech the answer is simple: In your case the ACF is empty, because there is no place so far where you are filling the information that this field should be displaying. The ACF is a “container”, but from where is this container grabbing the information that should be displayed?

Let’s say you use a post to do this. If I am not wrong in your current settings, if you go to Posts > Add new, you will see the new sms2 field you created (below the content editor). Fill that text area with something, a number, whatever, and save it, then in the page where you are using the shortcode write [acf field="sms2"] or [acf field="sms2" post_id="524"] and replace 524 for the post-ID from where you want to grab this info.

• May you please take a look to my screencast?

https://vid.me/Kwsq

I may didn’t explain the problem correctly

• Ok, I might be wrong, but I don’t think the shortcode will let you retrieve values from a user. A shortcode only let you indicate field name and post_id.

But this might point you out in the right direction: