Support

Account

Home Forums Feature Requests Separate Metabox Title Field

Solving

Separate Metabox Title Field

• Right now if you set the style to Standard (WP Metabox), the metabox title uses the Custom Fields post title. It would be great to have a separate field for the metabox title (default can still be post title), so that as an Admin I can name the fields whatever I want, and then show a nice user-friendly title on the metabox.

Thanks.

• Any feedback on this?

Thank you.

• Hi @emrl,

Thanks for the feature request.

I have submitted this issue to Elliot for consideration and hopefully it will be added to the plugin’s development roadmap.

• @acf-support Thanks James, I think the semi-recent addition of the “Description” field took care of this. Thanks though!

• @acf-support contrary to @emrl I think the addition of the Description field did not fully take care of this 🙂 I mean that with a lot of custom field groups it helps to somehow group them by name (eg. ‘<template_name> Functionality’) so that the custom field group list is a little easier to navigate.

But these group names do not look great when displayed on the actual page/post edit pages with metabox headers to the tune of ‘Homepage Template — Contact Us Section’ and ‘Options — Translations — For Email Use’ (options plugin). It’s usable but not 100% professional from a client’s perspective.

To sum up: would love to see the ability to define metabox titles separately.

• Hi @davidcie

You should be able to change the meta box title by defining the field group title. Could you please test it out?

Thanks 🙂

• @acf-support thanks for your reply but I’m not sure you took the time to read my post. I think both myself and @emrl meant that we would like to see the ability to have two separate title fields: one that is used on the field group list and a separate one for the WP metabox.

Not sure how I can describe it more specifically.

• Hi @davidcie