Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues Saving post data after page is refreshed

Solving

Saving post data after page is refreshed

• Hi, I’m new to both WordPress and ACF.

GOAL: I’m trying to create a new ACF post type that will let user enter a form of data, save them in “field” and display them right away on the same post.

ISSUE: When I reload (F5 refresh) the page, all my “field” data will be gone.

I tried searching around “save_post”, “update_value”… those do not seem to be what I needed (or possibly I didn’t use them correctly 🙁 ).

I know I can possibly save my data in some text files and reload them once the page is refresh. However I wonder if there is more elegant way (existing) WP/ACF function that can retain the post data after page is refreshed.

Any hint or pointer to other post will be greatly appreciated! 🙂 Thanks million in advance!

• Hi @clark0820

Sorry, but I don’t understand your GOAL.

Can you please be more descriptive with your issue?

Is this on the front or back end of the website?
    What does your field group look like?
    What is the post type?
    Why is ‘reload’ an issue? Do you save the data before reloading?

• Hi Elliot,

Sorry for being unclear.

So, say I’m using the “Text Area” field type.
    I would like to save whatever the user typed in the Text Area.

e.g.
    i) There is Default value “placeholder text” once the post is loaded
    ii) User click into the “Text Area” post, change all the text to be “user data”
    iii) User refresh the page by hitting F5
    iv) After refresh, the post is showing “user data” instead of “placeholder text”

I’m not so sure what ACF function to call to save the data once the client side has completed their action. (I can possibly save them in a text file and then reload them when I’m calling “create_field”, but I’m hoping ACF can save the data so I can avoid saving the data myself)