Support

Account

Home Forums Bug Reports Required fields not working alongside gutenberg

Solving

Required fields not working alongside gutenberg

• Gutenberg has been out for months but required fields from ACF still does not work on pages that uses gutenberg editor?

Does anyone know how to fix this properly? I see other similar forum threads but some of them are marked as solved without any apparent solution, whats going on here?

I don’t feel its clear anywhere that ACF does not work properly with latest wordpress (since it’s based on gutenberg) and has not since WP 5.0 released back in late 2018. It says the ACF works on WordPress 4.7.0 or higher but this is simply not true?

I would be very thankful for a more indepth answer on why ACF has not been patched to fix this (in my opinion) major issue? (Please use big words, i’m a dev)

// Jesper

• I’ve been told via support that it is being worked on. I don’t understand this at all, especially for a paid plugin – shouldn’t there be some clear discussion of the problem? an ETA on a fix?

Are other people able to use this plugin? It seems like the one thing this plugin does ( add custom fields ) isn’t working.

• The issue is the way that the new editor saves posts. Because of this the ACF validation cannot be run because the devs of the new editor with their infinite wisdom, have not provided a hook or mechanism of any kind that allows ACF to run any validation on the custom fields before the post is saved and/or prevent the post from being saved if anything fails. Elliot is working on this and he has been communicating the problem with the WP devs.