Support

Account

Home Forums Backend Issues (wp-admin) Replacing custom post type post title with an acf?

Solved

Replacing custom post type post title with an acf?

• Hello,

I’m just starting out with ACF, and I’d like to use it to replace a lot of the functionality within WordPress to allow my clients to be able to easily update areas of their site.

One problem that I’m having, that I can’t seem to find the answer to is; is it possible to replace the WordPress title with a custom field created using advanced custom fields? When I remove the title field from my custom post type, I just get some ‘Auto Draft’ Posts.

Thanks,
    Steph

• Hi @stephw

Yes. You can use an action called acf/update_value to hook in and run some custom functionality for the saving of a value.

Please read up on this action on the ACF docs, and then hook into the field via it’s key and use the updated value to update the post with.

WP contains functions to update the post data sich as title, content, etc.

Thanks
    E

• Ah excellent! I thought there must be something!

Thank you.

• @stephw
    I came accross you posts / rely: I also wanted to hide the ‘Title’ from the backend form, as it acts as a duplicate of 2 collated fields (firstname & last name…). Obviously the title is the post name so is needed.
    Could you please share the way you set up the title value, without having to input it ?
    I understand the ACF hooks system, similar to theWP logic, but am not comfortable with it at all yet (where to I how, which hoo to use, how to I collate the 2 values befofore saving the form…?
    Many thanks
    JMB

• Hi @jmb

You should use the ‘acf/update_value’ filter. Docs here: http://www.advancedcustomfields.com/resources/filters/acfupdate_value/

You should target the second field, not the first. I’m guessing this is ‘last_name’.