Support

Account

Home Forums Bug Reports Relationship Field post_type query in format_value()

Relationship Field post_type query in format_value()

• Hi everyone,

I’m fairly new to WordPress, but am an experienced PHP programmer.

I found myself debugging an issue on a site we just built that involves ACF. Specifically, we have a custom post type called “Product” and a relationship ACF called “Related Products” where the user can select other products to list on a given product’s page.

Unfortunately, due to a conflict with another plugin on the site, whenever we go to edit a Product in our catalog, the related products aren’t showing up in the admin area as selected.

I’ve figured out where the conflict occurs and think it could be resolved with a minor tweak to ACF.

Specifically, on lines 694-699 in plugins/advanced-custom-fields/core/fields/relationship.php, the following code exists:

// find posts (DISTINCT POSTS)
    		$posts = get_posts(array(
    			'numberposts' => -1,
    			'post__in' => $value,
     			'post_type'	=>	apply_filters('acf/get_post_types', array()),
    			'post_status' => array('publish', 'private', 'draft', 'inherit', 'future'),
    		));

This is found within the format_value method of the relationship class. The goal here is to find the posts represented by the value stored in the DB. So, if a given product is related to other products, the ids of those products are in an array in $value and we’re looking to find the posts for those ids.