Support

Account

Home Forums Backend Issues (wp-admin) Problem trying to include WYSIWYG in backend

Solving

Problem trying to include WYSIWYG in backend

• Hello there,

First of all, I’m no developer and my knowledge of PHP is laughable at best. I’m just an enthusiast that likes to get his hands dirty so please be kind to me 🙂

So to my question:

I’m creating a market place for WordPress using the excellent YITH Multi Vendor plugin and I’m having a moderate success using ACF to expand each Vendor profile capability. The plugin itself comes with a WYSIWYG editor used to describe their Shop Profile so I created 2 more fields using ACF and included it in the front end with success.

If I’m an admin, I can go to each Vendor profile and add their newly created fields with no problem, however, if I log in as one of the Vendors and try to edit my profile there, the fields don’t show at all.

So I hacked my way into the actual file that manages the Vendor profiles and display that data for editing in the backend and I just added the following line in the relevant section:

<?php the_field('brand_impact', 'yith_shop_vendor_'.$vendor->id); ?>

This actually show what’s inside, but no editor to be found.

I thought that since the field was created as a WYSIWYG field, it would show and editor there? Obviously I’m doing something wrong due to my inexperience but can any good soul help me out with this task?

Thanks so much in advance,
    Arky

• I don’t know much about the YITH Multi Vendor plugin. ACF works by adding field groups to existing editors for posts, terms, users and it’s own options pages. It cannot automatically add field groups to the admin pages of other plugins that do not use one of these things.