Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues Portfolio Taxonomy: Names of Selcted Categories Under Custom Field

Solving

Portfolio Taxonomy: Names of Selcted Categories Under Custom Field

• I just know this question has been asked, so many pardons for not finding the answer already.

I am brand new with no coding skills so I started by choosing the taxonomy of my theme’s portfolio (taxonomy: portfolio-category) and the checkbox option for field type.

My logic was to eventually associate the category/tag names with the urls in that taxonomy since I don’t code and it would seem better if I could call up a category/tag archive function that has already been made.

However when I use

$values = get_field(‘media’);
    if( count($values)){
    foreach($values as $k=>$value){
    if($k) echo ‘, ‘;
    echo $value;
    }
    }

I get what looks like ids

208, 210, 214.

If I use echo $value->name, I get the commas so clearly it is running through something but the execution type is not appropriate in this instance of echo, possibly because I’m using a taxonomy rather than a custom field type (sorry, I’m new so my vocabulary is probably a little convoluted).

A variable dump yields the result

strings(5)”media”

5 being the total number of options available to choose, so I can tell the field is being read differently under taxonomy, but I’ve already tried sub_field. There doesn’t seem to be any?

So, is there anything else I can try? Thanks in advance.

• To clarify now that I understand more:

I am using my theme’s existing custom taxonomy portfolio-category, but I don’t know how to perform a var_dump of that field (assuming it’s a field and not a subfield) outside of the loop. I want to eventually be able to use each category I assign via checkbox a link, and to use my portfolio’s existing archive view to view the posts under that category.

In my theme: