Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues Plugin Update to 4.2.2 wiped out Location Points

Solved

Plugin Update to 4.2.2 wiped out Location Points

• Hello,
    My site is http://naturetravelnetwork.com. This is a question about upgrading properly.

I updated to the recent 4.2.2 ACF too quickly, without reading the fine print. Yeah, I know…

I had a custom post type with an ACF running among other things, the Location Field ADD on with Google Maps. So, about 100 of my posts HAD a map with a location pin pointed. Now, they have a map, but the locations are no longer pinpointed. I am not sure of proper course: backup to a previous restore point, or is there some other plugin update step I can take to “bring back” all the location points.

I did not understand the instructions on the update page all that well. I am not a programmer, this was set up by someone who is no longer available.

In any case, I updated, it went awry, and now I have a choice: restore point from a few days back, then figure out how to make your update work with my site somehow.

OR; maybe there’s one more update step for this add-on I can take that will restore all the points that I previously created.

Thanks for any advice you can give

Laura

• Hi @lkamms

Can you provide some more info about the issue?

You say you updated, what version did you update from?
    Also, you say that the map is no longer pin pointed. What do you mean by this? Is the map still visible in the backend?

Most likely, you have updated from a v3 to a v4 which means the user made field types (location field) don’t work any more.

Perhaps all you need to do is remove the current location field plugin, and download a v4 compatible location field plugin,.

Rest assured your data still remains, just don’t go editing / saving posts. You will loose data if you do that.