Support

Account

Home Forums Add-ons Repeater Field Make (Sub_Field) Link to Post?

Solved

Make (Sub_Field) Link to Post?

• Hello..I am fairly new to WordPress, so please bare with me. πŸ™‚

I purchased ACF Repeater – and im trying to figure out how do I get a (sub_field) to link to a post I created for it?

I was able to display & list everything on the Page with:

<?php if(get_field(‘list_of_games’)): ?>

<?php while(has_sub_field(‘list_of_games’)): ?>

• <?php the_sub_field(‘game_name’); ?>
    • <?php endwhile; ?>

<?php endif; ?>

However, I need the “game_name” to hyperlink to a specific post…Can you please help to show me how to make it work & link properly?

I appreciate your help!

Thank you!

• Hi @WPDragon

Does your data contain a link that you can use?
    Is game_name a post_object field type? Or is it a text field?
    Where in the backend would you like to enter this link? Would you link to enter the link for each repeater row?

Once you have the link data available, then you can simply write a link like so:

<a href="<?php echo $link; ?>"><?php the_sub_field(β€˜game_name’); ?></a>

Thanks
    E

• Hii..okay, i switched it from Text to Page Link.

After I put the code in…I do get the URL to display a Link on the page…however, I notice it is listing the Full URL – instead of the actual name of the games….can we have it display the game name, as the link?

Also, the links are not actually working — when I click on them or hover over them I notice that they are pointing to the current page they are on…and not the actual URL address that they are suppose to go to.

Hopefully, you know what i mean…im fairly new, so im trying to explain it easily. πŸ™‚

Thanks.

• *UPDATE – I just realized you mentioned “Post Object Field”…so, I tried that instead of “Page Link”…but setting it to “Post Object” gave me some odd error:

) SCREAM: Error suppression ignored for