Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues Loop issue with checkbox

Solved

Loop issue with checkbox

• Hi there. I’m pretty new to WordPress and the last couple of weeks I’ve been tinkering on a website. Ever since discovering ACF (great plug-in!) I’m trying to make the back-end more and more advanced, trying to convert lots of shady loops that used category’s to custom fields instead.

But I’ve come across a problem, which just ended up in a lot of frustration for a good few days, but finally after thinking logically and testing out a lot of things I find out what is causing the problem, but I have no idea how to fix it.

So the problem is I have a loop, and the purpose of this loop is to showcase 1 Featured news item. Previously I handled this by adding an additional category called ‘featured’ resulting in news items having multiple categories… and with also an image slider handled like this, some news items could end up having 2 or 3 categories, which isn’t really practical. So I wanted to convert this into a checkbox, which is more user friendly and use the categories where they are suppose to be used for, sounds decent right?

The code:

<?php
         $args = array (
              'post_type' => 'nieuws',
              'posts_per_page' => 1,
              'orderby' => 'date',
              'order' => 'DESC'
         );
    $nieuws = new WP_Query($args);
    if ( $nieuws->have_posts() ) : ?>
         <?php while ( $nieuws->have_posts() ) : $nieuws->the_post();?>
              <?php if( in_array( 'featured_spot', get_field('featured') ) ) { ?>

<!--article layout goes here-->

<?php } ?> 
         <?php endwhile; ?>
    <?php endif; ?>
    <?php wp_reset_query(); // reset the query ?>

So what I think this does is first loop through all the posts of the post type nieuws and then check whether or not it has the featured checkbox ticked and then post the latest by date in the list.