Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues Location: User Role vs Current User Role

Helping

Location: User Role vs Current User Role

  • Hi all …

    can someone please shed some light on the user related restrictions, especially the difference between “User Role” and “Current User Role”.

    I tried “User Role” set to “Administrator” and I could not see the group in question. But when I set “Current User Role” to “Administrator”, I see it.

    As far as I recall, it used to work with just “User role” in a not so old previous release.

  • Hi @wloske

    The “User Role” location is used to show the fields on the user profile that have the role set to the chosen role, while the “Current User Role” is used to check if you see the field using the account that has the chosen role or not.

    So if you have two accounts:
    A is an administrator
    B is an editor

    If you are logged in as A and both of the “User Role” and “Current User Role” are set to “administrator,” then you can see the field on the A’s profile, but not on the B’s.

    If you are logged in as A and the “User Role” is set to “editor” while “Current User Role” are set to “administrator,” then you can see the field on the B’s profile, but not on the A’s.

    If you are logged in as A and the “User Role” is set to “editor” while “Current User Role” are set to “editor,” then you can’t see the field because you are logged in as “administrator,” not “editor.”

    I hope this makes sense 🙂

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.