Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues How to display a Taxonomy content instead of ID?

Solved

How to display a Taxonomy content instead of ID?

• Hello! ๐Ÿ™‚

I am new to ACF and trying to create my first website using it.

I am trying to learn how to do something and I can’t figure it out. I was hoping someone can help me understand how can I do it (I hope it’s an easy one as I am a beginner coding).

In ACF if have a field that pulls categories from a CPT with a select field.

When I try to display this field in my page, it’s displaying the category ID instead of the content of that category (the category name). I imagine that this happens because this field in ACF is only saving the category ID and not the content of the category itself.

How can I pull the category content instead of the ID?

My fields are:

CPT = Insects (all_insects)
    Custom Field = Family (insect_family)
    Taxonomy = Insect Families (category_insect_family)

Thank you very much!

• You can configure the return value of the field to give you the Taxonomy (category) object instead of the ID.

• Thank you Mark.

Unfortunately I am a beginner coding and I am not sure what you mean exactly. Could you please expand a little bit? Is there any documentation you can point me to, or code example I can try to analyse to see if I can reproduce what you are suggesting?

Thank you for trying to help me ๐Ÿ™‚

• @nano09 Take a look at the โ€œReturn Valueโ€ field in the Taxonomy field configuration. https://www.advancedcustomfields.com/resources/taxonomy/ It allows you to choose whether you want the Term ID or the Term Object in your code.

• Oh yes, I see what you mean now. Yes, it is still not working. It is not retrieving the value regardless of what option I choose there. It shows blank.

Maybe it is because only the ID for the category is stored in the post and the value in the category?

• I’ll try again and will let you know. Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚