Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues How do I place a link in a footer?

Solving

How do I place a link in a footer?

• I will say before I start that I am completely new to ACF. I took over a website that seems to have used it extensively and I have no idea why that would be. There is nothing on the site that could not have been done very quickly without this plugin.

I cannot disable ACF because it breaks the site. So I will need to work with it.

As there are no traditional blocks to edit I cannot fathom how to place a simple centred link at the bottom of the footer. I can see the field group for company details which has been set to an options page but, although I can see fields I cannot see anywhere or any method of placing a simple link in the footer.

Is there a simple way to add a link to the footer?

Thanks

Sasha

• You need to look in the PHP templates of the theme. ACF fields are shown by code and you will generally not find anything in the admin that controls front end display. Try the file footer.php

• Ahh, ok I had already looked in the footer.php but I didn’t really want to be editing core files. I thought the footer had been created with ACF, although I can’t see a sensible reason why that would be. It is certainly an odd choice.

It is looking like I will need to find another solution to add this link.

Going slightly off-topic for a moment. Do you know why deactivating ACF would break the whole site? If I deactivate the plugin I lose everything except a single bar across the top of the page. Everything else is blank white.

• Template files are not core files. You likely have a custom theme built specifically to use ACF. The theme files likely have many calls to ACF functions. Deactivating ACF means these function do not exist. This is why the theme stops working due to calls to undefined functions. The only way to modify the theme is to modify the theme files.