Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues get_field is not retuning values

Solving

get_field is not retuning values

• Hi, I’m new to wordpress 3.5

Basically I want to display the select box so admin can select the option while creating or editing a category to display the category in front page with image or not.

I use advanced custom plugin to add a select box in categories page.
    I created a custom field group of display with

field label : Select to display
    field name : select_to_display_
    field type : Select
    options : no,yes
    location rules : Taxonomy term add/edit equal to categories.

As soon as I create the custom field the values are stored in db of wp_postmeta table as

meta_key:field key value
    meta_value:a:12:{s:3:”key”;s:19:”field_51d53f2ed1236″;s:5:”label”;s:17:”Select to display”;s:4:”name”;s:18:”select_to_display_”;s:4:”type”;s:6:”select”;s:12:”instructions”;s:0:””;s:8:”required”;s:1:”0″;s:7:”choices”;a:2:{s:2:”NO”;s:2:”NO”;s:3:”YES”;s:3:”YES”;}s:13:”default_value”;s:0:””;s:10:”allow_null”;s:1:”0″;s:8:”multiple”;s:1:”0″;s:17:”conditional_logic”;a:3:{s:6:”status”;s:1:”0″;s:5:”rules”;a:1:{i:0;a:3:{s:5:”field”;s:19:”field_51d53f2ed1236″;s:8:”operator”;s:2:”==”;s:5:”value”;s:2:”NO”;}}s:8:”allorany”;s:3:”all”;}s:8:”order_no”;i:0;}
    When I go to dashboard->post->categories I can display the select box with options but when I select any option and click on update it is updating.

but when in index.php

foreach(get_categories() as $category)
    {
    $category_id= $category->cat_ID;
    $field=get_field(‘select_to_display_’,$category_id); //nothing is displaying here
    echo $field[‘value’]; //nothing is displaying here
    if($field[‘value’] == ‘false’)
    {
    echo ‘A value is set’;
    } else
    {

echo ‘A value is not set’;
    }

}
    I’m always getting value is not set. I don’t know whether my selected values are saving db or not. I don’t have any meta key or values like wp_acf in database.