Support

Account

Home Forums ACF PRO Get total number from multiple post object fields

Solved

Get total number from multiple post object fields

• Hello,

I’m pretty new to PHP so my question might have a very simple answer, but I’ve searched the ACF forum and Google with no luck. Hopefully someone here can help.

I have four multi-select post object fields on my page and I’m attempting to get the total number of posts (or in my case staff) in those post objects. I’d like to combine them somehow so I can use the total with a conditional.

I’m able to get the amount for a single post object using count().

<?php

// vars
    $instructor = get_field('course_instructors');

if (count($instructors) > 1) {
      dosomething...
    }

?>

but trying to add them together within count() doesn’t work.

<?php

// vars
    $leaders = get_field('course_leaders');
    $designers = get_field('course_designers');
    $speakers = get_field('course_speakers');

if (count($instructors + $leaders + $designers + $speakers) > 1) {
      dosomething...
    }

?>

I’ve also tried array_merge() and other array functions with no luck, but I’m not 100% sure that the output of a post object is an array…although it looks like it when I use print_r().

Ideally my code would work something like this:

<?php

// vars
    $leaders = get_field('course_leaders');
    $designers = get_field('course_designers');
    $speakers = get_field('course_speakers');
    $all_staff = $instructors + $leaders + $designers + $speakers;

if (count($all_staff) > 1) {
      dosomething...
    }

?>

When I do that I get an error: “Fatal error: Unsupported operand types in…”.

Hopefully someone can answer this for me or at least point in the right direction.
    Thanks in advance. Much appreciated!

• You can’t add arrays together, you need to add the count values of each array

$total = count($instructors)+count($leaders)+count($designers)+count($speakers);