Support

Account

Home Forums Backend Issues (wp-admin) Get acf/save_post to fire on Quick Edit

Solving

Get acf/save_post to fire on Quick Edit

• Edit:
    never mind, I’ve figured a totally different approach therefore this is not needed anymore 🙂

Hey guys, let me first say that I’m no super pro coder and I’ve been trying to google for a solution for three days now.

I’m firing a function that grabs a custom field’s value from the post object selected on the custom post and puts it in a new custom field in the actual post.

Scenario:

• I have a custom post type named ‘course’
    • I have a custom post type named ‘tutors’
    • ‘course’ has an image field where I upload the icon related to the course (eg a note for the Music course)
    • ‘tutors’ has a Post Object field where I select the course the tutor belongs to (so for a Music tutor, I will select the Music ‘course’ in the dropdown.
    • Now what I’m trying to do, is to store the icon’s url in the ‘tutors’ post type, by updating a custom field’s value in the ‘tutors’ cpt.

I’ve been successfully able to achieve that by putting this code in my functions.php:

// Populate course_icon on Tutor save

function acf_save_post_data( $post_id ) {
        $post_type = get_post_type( $post_id );
        if ($post_type != 'tutors') {
          return;
        }

$tutor_course = get_field('tutor_course'); // The post object dropdown field
        $post = $tutor_course;
        $icon = get_field('course_icon', $post->ID); // The icon URL from the selected Course
        update_field( 'icon_field_on_tutor_page', $icon, $post_id ); // The new field on the tutor page that stores the icon's URL

}

add_action( 'acf/save_post', 'acf_save_post_data', 20); //priority of 20 makes the function run at low priority