Support

Account

Home Forums ACF PRO Form + ACF Gallery Field = Upload photos with descriptions to gallery

Solving

Form + ACF Gallery Field = Upload photos with descriptions to gallery

• Hi! I’m very new to the ACF world and coding isn’t my strongest!

I have successfully added a GalleryField through a WPForm so my site members don’t need to see the WP dashboard at all. They can use the form to upload a post together with an image gallery, where the first picture will obviously be the featured image.

I’ve also created form fields so the author can write the attached photos TITLES.

Now I’m trying to create a function that will basically pull those ACF fields (they have correctly uploaded to the post custom meta fields) into the actual gallery images titles.

I started coding but realized I’m not 100% sure how to access the images within the GalleryField! Can anyone help? Thanks in advance!

• If I’m understanding you right, it sounds like you need the code from the Gallery field’s main page? I’ll paste it here.
    ‘<?php
    $images = get_field(‘gallery’);
    if( $images ): ?>

<?php endif; ?>’

https://www.advancedcustomfields.com/resources/gallery/

Does that help?

• Hi! thanks for your reply.

I’m a bit confused… So I already got the titles for the attached photos in the Post settings thanks to ACF.

I only need to assign those ACFs to the actual gallery/photos’s file names / alt text, or whatever field so that then they show up when viewing the gallery.

I fail to understand how to assign those titles to the photos, can you help ne please?

• I will try to – can you share the code you are using to get the titles? By titles do you mean the title attribute of images? If so and that’s working, then if I’m not mistaken (which often I am) you should be able to get url, alt, caption in the same way.

• I have no code yet! Not sure where it would go? everything goes to the functions.php in the theme-child folder?