Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues Display value for taxonomy in template

Solved

Display value for taxonomy in template

• Hello, I am new to ACF & WordPress as I am in the process of migrating from drupal to wordpress (well giving it a go anyway). As I am new to wordpress please excuse & correct me if I am looking at this problem incorrectly.

This is a two-parter:

I have a custom post type, within that post type I have a number of custom taxonomies with a few terms in each.

My custom post type has, for this example, three custom fields:

• One field references one custom taxonomy.
    • Two more fields BOTH reference another custom taxonomy.

To put it as an example:
    Post Type = Holiday
    Taxonomy 1 = Location
    Taxonomy 2 = Equipment

The user can select one term from the Location taxonomy in a custom field. There are two further custom fields one called “Required Equipment” and the other “Optional Equipment”. I want those fields to both link to the equipment taxonomy.

This is essentially my set-up. Am I approaching this incorrectly?

Part 2:

This is probably a simple one but I have searched, and searched… and searched.

How do I print/render the values from these custom fields in my template as terms and not IDs?

I have tried the_field and get_field and they work but output the terms as an ID. I want them to output the relevant name of that term.

Thanks, I understand the answer is probably simple but any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Hi @kylewallace86

When you edit the taxonomy field, you can set the return type setting from ID to Object. The Object will return all the term data from the DB, not just the ID! Please note, you need to use the get_field function to load the value.

Create a field group for the term fields (“Required Equipment” and the other “Optional Equipment”) and use the location rules to map this field group to the taxonomy term under ‘Other’.

Now, when you edit the term, you can save this extra data.