Support

Account

Home Forums Backend Issues (wp-admin) DB query for field via URL

Solved

DB query for field via URL

• This is asking a bit so I’ll understand if no one wants to answer this but I felt it was worth the risk:

I’m new to shortcode creation (I have a basic one I wrote to place graphic stars within pages for our movie reviews) and had an idea on something to do next that I need some input on.

As mentioned, we do reviews and provide stars for the movies that are in a custom field we added with ACF (called Rating) which stores a numeric from 0 to 5. The problem is that we have each rating shown in 3 places — the review, a sidebar for a list of the most current reviews and a page for the compendium of all reviews for the current year. The issue is that each are manual so we’re introducing bad data every so often. For example a movie may rate 5 stars but a slip on the keys and it’s a 4 in the compendium.

So I’d like to change our “stars” shortcode from simply displaying graphical stars to instead pass it the URL for the review and have it use that to find the record in the database and pull the Rating from it. The URL for the review is in the sidebar and the compendium so it’s already part of the process.

How would I go about doing that to get the data from the custom field?

• Hi @Agrajag

May I ask why you need to wrap all this within a shortcode?

The ACF plugin is best used by editing your theme and using PHP code to render data.

Perhaps you could provide some screenshots to show why the shortcode is needed?

I don’t think WP has a function to find a post via a url (I may be wrong). So I would be more inclined to use a post_id instead.

Thanks
    E

• Thanks for the reply Elliot.

Have a look at this page:

http://slashcomment.com/movie-review-compendium/

While on the page, note the sidebar on the right called, “Latest Review Roundup”. It’s a small subset of the full list above.