Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues Automatic Calculation price per kilo

Solved

Automatic Calculation price per kilo

• Hi,

I’m new with ACF and I’m amazed about all the time I could have saved if I knew this plugin before.

I’ve been looking for a solution to calculate the price per kg of my product automatically. In my country, it is mandatory to show the price per kilo under every food product or drink.
    The formula on paper is easy:

1000g * A (price of the product) / B (weight of the product).

So an apple that would weight 200 grams and cost 5€, the price per kilo would be:
    1000 * 5 / 200 = 25€/kilo.

I was wondering if there is a way to calculate this using an ACF field. Is it possible to use the price field and the weight field of WooCommerce to calculate in another custom field the price per kilo ? That would be perfect for me, and I’ve been wasting so much time for this simple thing …

Thanks in advance !

• Hi Nayrod!

You can do this with the update_field function.

https://www.advancedcustomfields.com/resources/update_field/

update_field($selector, $value, [$post_id]);

$selector is your price/per kilo field name
    $value is calculated price
    $post_id is current product ID

You can use a function in your function.php file to calculate the price ($value).

• Hi Celestial,

Thank you for your reply πŸ™‚

I’ve been trying to understand how to create a function using this, but I’m brand new with PHP and I don’t really understand how to use it. I can study it of course but if you have the formula, it would save me a lot of time before I can reach this level.

Thank you very much !

• Hi!

For example

1. Create an ACF field (price_per_kilo) for Product.

2. In Woo template use something like this

global $product;

$price = $product->get_price();

$weight = $product->get_weight();

$id = $product->get_id();

$value = 1000 * $price / $weight;

update_field('price_per_kilo', $value, $id); // this code updates data for this field