Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues Adding a custom field to loop-index.php

Solving

Adding a custom field to loop-index.php

• I am at a total loss with the documentation and hope someone can help me. There are several plugins out there for multiple authors. But I want to display an author and a photographer, that contributed the picture to the post (and not call him author hehe).

I installed the plugin “AFC” to generate a custom field named “fotograf” (yeah, you guessed that). Since I am no developer I did not understand where I would have to place the code within loop-index.php to show the field (if not void) in a post.

That’s the code I get that I have to include in <b>loop-index.php</b> I guess? But where?

<?php $fotograf_checked_values = get_field( ‘fotograf’ ); ?>
    <?php if ( $fotograf_checked_values ) : ?>
    <?php foreach ( $fotograf_checked_values as $fotograf_value ): ?>
    <?php echo esc_html( $fotograf_value ); ?>
    <?php endforeach; ?>
    <?php endif; ?>

At row 259 the author is mentioned at “echo “<div class=’blog-meta’>”;”, so I figured it should be near that row, right?
    https://prnt.sc/1umfxjx

I also found “author” mentioned again at row 508
    https://prnt.sc/1umfy59

Second challenge: where to place (what) code in single.php 🙂

I tried to figure out what part has been changed in this documentation https://www.advancedcustomfields.com/resources/adding-fields-posts/ to find out what has been placed to show the new custom fields. But again… I am at a complete loss. At what row do I need to add code to show the photographers name (if field is not empty)?

And do I have to change something here too to use loop-index.php?
    https://prnt.sc/1umfwe5

I appreciate all the help I can get 🙂
    Thanks very much, Michelle

PS: not sure if this is the right place as a community discussion post or if I should open a support ticket

• Is there seriously no one who can help me getting startet after 6 weeks?