Support

Account

Home Forums Front-end Issues Add custom fields to WooCommerce Reviews

Solving

Add custom fields to WooCommerce Reviews

• Hi,

I am already using a Plugin to enhance Woocommerce Reviews and now I am trying to add some more fields to it using ACF.

I was able to add the wanted fields to the review form in the backend and to display them in the final review in the frontend.

What I still fail at is to make the fields available for all Users in the frontend form. So only the Admin is able to use them at the moment.

This is how far I got. (I am completely new to the following, there might be a lot of mistakes in this code)

Using this code I am able to show the field group I created to frontend Users:

<?php acf_form_head(); ?>
    <?php
    acf_form(array(
    ‘post_id’ => get_the_ID(),
    ‘field_groups’ => array(21112),
    ‘post_title’ => false,
    ‘post_content’ => false,
    ‘submit_value’ => __(‘Update meta’)
    ));
    ?>

The Problems:
    – this creates a new submit button “update meta” (I can only rename it, not disable it)
    – the original Submit button of the Review form stops working
    – when I use the new “Update meta” button nothing gets saved

I tried to solve the last issue by adding this to functions.php.
    (w2rr_review is the Post type the Plugin creates)

function new_review_meta( $post_id )
    {
    if( $post_id == ‘new_post’ ) {
    // Create a new post
    $post = array(
    ‘post_type’ => ‘w2rr_review’,
    ‘post_status’ => ‘publish’
    );

// insert the post
    $post_id = wp_insert_post( $post );

return $post_id;
    }
    else {
    return $post_id;
    }
    }

add_filter(‘acf/save_post’ , ‘new_review_meta’);

Any tipps on how to solve this are very much appreciated. Thanks for any reply!

• You’re adding another form to the page, hence why you’re having issues. You just need to amend the existing woo review form