Support

Account

Home Forums General Issues Add a page url to a rotating homepage banner

Solving

Add a page url to a rotating homepage banner

• Hi

I have a rotating banner on the home page and I want to make it clickable, so if a visitor clicks on it, it sends them to another page in the site.

I am using the Total theme so each of the banner images has been created by pulling through the featured image of a page.

I’ve created a new field for the page template and added the generated php code to the theme’s functions.php file, but I just can’t get it to work.

Do I need to add some other code to the page template file?

I am a bit of a newbie at this, so any help will be really appreciated.

This is the code I added to the functions.php:

if(function_exists(“register_field_group”))
    {
    register_field_group(array (
    ‘id’ => ‘acf_external-link-key’,
    ‘title’ => ‘External link key’,
    ‘fields’ => array (
    array (
    ‘key’ => ‘field_588249abf27dd’,
    ‘label’ => ‘External link key’,
    ‘name’ => ‘external_link_key’,
    ‘type’ => ‘page_link’,
    ‘post_type’ => array (
    0 => ‘all’,
    ),
    ‘allow_null’ => 0,
    ‘multiple’ => 0,
    ),
    ),
    ‘location’ => array (
    array (
    array (
    ‘param’ => ‘page_template’,
    ‘operator’ => ‘==’,
    ‘value’ => ‘default’,
    ‘order_no’ => 0,
    ‘group_no’ => 0,
    ),
    ),
    ),
    ‘options’ => array (
    ‘position’ => ‘normal’,
    ‘layout’ => ‘no_box’,
    ‘hide_on_screen’ => array (
    ),
    ),
    ‘menu_order’ => 0,
    ));
    }

• If the rotating banner is something that is included in the theme you’re using then you’re going to need to talk to the theme author to get information on how to modify it to add what you want, or if the banner is done using a plugin then you need to talk to the plugin author. Once you how to add it their then the documentation here will help you with getting the values to add.