Support

Account

Home Forums ACF PRO ACF with Social Article

Solving

ACF with Social Article

• @markbloomfield

Hi, I’ve just purchased ACF Pro.Order#109768

Referring to the Pre-purchase question here https://support.advancedcustomfields.com/forums/topic/can-acf-do-this-with-social-article/, what do I have to do next? I already created a field group, my form.

• Hi @topy

Ok, so the steps would be as follows:

1) create the form group with all the fields you want to be on your post
    2) create a page in wordpress where this form will ‘live’
    3) open your functions.php and add these 2 bits of code:

/*----------  User Info  ----------*/
      // this creates a global 'USERID' which you can use to return the ID of the current user anywhere in your site
      if (is_user_logged_in()) {
        $current_user = wp_get_current_user();
        define('USERID', $current_user->ID);
      }

/*----------  Check if I am an admin  ----------*/
      function is_administrator() {
        $current_user = wp_get_current_user();
        $roles = $current_user->roles;

return (in_array('administrator', $roles)) ? true : false;
      }

4) create a new page template to apply to this page (assuming you know how to do this?)
    5) in that template, put this at the very top of your file:

<?php

/**
       *      Is something being edited?
       *      Is the user trying to do this, the author of the post being edited?
       *      If not, redirect back to home
       */
      if (isset($_GET['edit'])) {
        // get the post being edited
        $thispost = get_post($_GET['edit']);
        if (USERID == $thispost->post_author || is_administrator()) {
          $new_post = $_GET['edit'];
        } else {
          header('Location: '.get_bloginfo('home'));
          exit;
        }
      } else {
        $new_post = 'new_post';
      }

/* Template Name: My Post Create Page */

acf_form_head();
      get_header();
    ?>