Support

Account

Home Forums Feature Requests ACF-JSON not working

Solving

ACF-JSON not working

• I’m trying to get started on ACF-JSON, as in the documentation says I have created the acf-json folder in the theme ( twenty-seventeen ) with the permissions 755 (I’ve also tried 777) to write and read, but the ACF-JSON folder still empty.

I’m new in wordpress and ACF and I dont know what is wrong.

Any reply will be appreciated.

• After setting up the folder on your server did you go in and re-save all of the field groups on the site? The field groups in the acf-json folder are only updated when you save a field group.

• I did that. I can’t get them to save. ACF-JSON NOT Saving.

• Some common reasons for not saving

ACF will only save to the acf-json folder of the current theme. For example you can’t write to the parent theme of a child theme unless you set up a custom save location. Also, ACF will not load json files from the parent theme unless a custom load point is added https://www.advancedcustomfields.com/resources/local-json/

This folder needs to have permissions set to that it can be written to.

If you are creating a theme that will use a child theme then the best practice would be to do all ACF work in the parent theme and set a custom load point to load json files from the parent theme.

• Requiring the folder to be in the parent/child theme needs to change. I would suggest wp_uploads basedir /acf-json created by the plugin to store json files. That way, no matter what theme, the data stays the same. I may have a dozen themes in development that all use the same ACF.

• If ACF did that then a theme that did not use those fields would still load them. If this is a requirement for your dev environment then it’s something that needs to be done using the json load/save point filters that the developer has given us. Alternately you might try https://github.com/khromov/acf-local-json-manager

• Not if ACF plugin is not active.