Support

Account

Home Forums Backend Issues (wp-admin) Showing and populating text fields based on user's choice

Solving

Showing and populating text fields based on user's choice

• Hello,

I’m pretty new to ACF, but I think it’s really awesome… I need some help, though, realizing a project for a customer.

I’m trying to populate a select field using values from a list, the options page, or something along the lines. Best would be an options page, since my customer could then add their own values.

Now, based on the selection the user has made, it should then display a couple text fields that are also populated by a list or something along the lines.

The select field should be a list of locations:

Location 1
    Location 2
    Location 3

The text fields should be addresses:

123-ZIPCODE, City, Street

The important part is, I don’t want to change the field_id, it should always be the same, so the content of the text fields should dynamically change based on the selection the user has made.

I know I can show fields based on a selection the user has made, but I really don’t know how to do this dynamically.

I’ve read in your forums, but I have never done anything using AJAX before. Also, the examples given by John Huebner’s GitHub page are for returning data from users of posts, which in my opinion, is a very different thing from what I’m trying to do.

I just want to display different information about the location based on the choice the user made.

For example:

Location 1 = 3396 Church Street, Queens, NY 11423
    Location 2 = 1965 Lawman Avenue, Chantilly, VA 22021
    Location 3 = 2618 Locust Street, Nashville, GA 31630

Location 2 gets selected – now the user should see the data of Location 2 in 3 fields.

How do I accomplish this?

I hope you can help me. Thanks in advance.

Best regards

• Hello @wbjkr and welcome to ACF.