When you open the field group editor, you should see a warning when you are trying to delete the field group. But it won’t show up if you do that on the field group list page. This is why there’s the trash/bin feature. That will allow you to restore any groups that you’ve deleted or accidentally deleted.
I hope this makes sense 🙂